Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Services > Housing > Housing Loans > COVID-19 Housing Loan Repayment Break for LA

COVID-19 Housing Loan Repayment Break for Local Authority Borrowers


COVID-19 – Additional Measures  for Local Authority Borrowers


The Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Mr. Darragh O’Brien T.D., has confirmed further additional arrangements to be put in place to support local authority borrowers who are experiencing financial distress arising out of the continuing COVID-19 emergency.


This additional arrangement provides for:

  • Amendments to the mortgage payment break of which the main ones are:
    • Introduction of a third mortgage payment break for local authority borrowers bringing the total of the three mortgage payment breaks up to a maximum of 9 months
    • Closing date of 31 December 2020 for first time applicants applying for their first mortgage payment break
    • Introduction of additional measures to support engagement with local authority borrowers who wish to avail of a third mortgage payment break


The Application Forms and Frequently Asked Questions can be accessed at the links below:


For further information please contact the Housing Loans Department, Donegal County Council on 074 9172587 or via email on

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO