Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Culture > Heritage > Natural Heritage > Geological Sites

Geological Sites

 Dry Stone Wall Bloody Foreland

Bloody Foreland


Geology is now recognised as a fundamental component of our natural heritage. In 1998, the Geological Survey of Ireland established the Irish Geological Heritage (IGH) Programme, which is a partnership between The Geological Survey of Ireland (GSI) and the National Parks and Wildlife Service. Under the IGH Programme, important geological sites to be conserved as Natural Heritage Areas (NHA) are being identified. Those not selected for NHA designation are being promoted as County Geological Sites (CGS). There are approximately 114 Irish Geological Heritage (IGH) sites in County Donegal. The Heritage Act, and the planning legislation in particular, place responsibility upon Local Authorities to ensure that geological heritage is adequately addressed. Several sites of geological interest in County Donegal or County Geological Sites are set out in the County Development Plan. 


Areas of Geological Interest

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO