Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Culture > Heritage > Natural Heritage > Ramsar Sites

Ramsar Sites

The Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971), more popularly known as the Ramsar Convention, is an intergovernmental treaty which provides the framework for national action and international cooperation for the conservation and wise use of wetlands and their resources. There are 45 sites in Ireland, covering 66,994 hectares, and four sites in County Donegal. 


Ramsar Sites in County Donegal

SiteDate of DesignationArea (hectares)
Lough Barra Bog 01/06/87 176 
Meenachullion Bog 30/05/90 194
Pettigo Plateau 31/07/86 900
Trawbreaga Bay 11/06/96 1,003 

Rate this Page

Select an option below

Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • NWGreenway network icon
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO