Donegal County Council Logo
Home > Community > NWGreenway > Our Partners

Our Partners

Funders Image1

Donegal County Council is a partner with the following organisations:


Derry City & Strabane District Council


This is a local authority in Northern Ireland that was established on 1 April 2015. It replaced Derry City Council and Strabane District Council and covers most of the northwest of Northern Ireland. The first elections to the authority were on 22 May 2014 and it acted as a shadow authority, prior to the creation of the Derry and Strabane district on 1 April 2015. It has 40 elected members divided between seven district electoral areas (DEAs): Ballyarnet (6), Derg (5), Faughan (5), Foyleside (5), Sperrin (7), the Moor (5) and Waterside (7). The Chief Executive is John Kelpie.


Department for Infrastructure


This is a devolved Northern Ireland government department in the Northern Ireland Executive. The minister with overall responsibility for the department is the Minister for Infrastructure. Up until May 2016, the department was called the Department for Regional Development. The Department’s overall aim is to ‘improve quality of life by securing transport and water infrastructure and shaping the region's long-term strategic development’ (Northern Ireland budget, 2011-2015). Its main responsibilities include: regional strategic planning and development; transport strategy and sustainable transport; public roads; public transport; air and sea ports and water and sewerage services.


Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport


This is a department of the Government of Ireland that is responsible for transport policy and overseeing transport services and infrastructure. The department is led by the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport who is assisted by a Minister of State. The current minister is Mr Shane Ross, TD. The official headquarters and ministerial offices of the department are in Leeson Lane, Dublin 2 but there are also regional offices in Killarney, County Kerry, and Loughrea, County Galway.





Sustrans is a UK cycling and walking charity and was founded in 1977. In Northern Ireland, Sustrans works with schools, workplaces and communities to encourage active travel for everyday journeys. Its cycle training courses provide individuals and organisations with the skills to cycle safely and confidently on the road. It works to influence government and planning authorities to invest in walking, cycling and public transport.



Rate this Page

Select an option below


Map Services

Map Portal

  • winterweather Image
  • Rennet Image
  • NPPR Logo
  • Donegal Gathering Logo
  • Donegal Tourism Logo
  • Donegal Diaspora Logo
  • Public Art logo
  • Regional Cultural Centre logo
  • Spaceial logo
  • IrishWater
  • LEO